# WORKING COMMUNITY of the DANUBE REGIONS

(short information)

#### Foundation:

17<sup>th</sup> May 1990, signing of the "Joint Declaration" in the Wachau – Lower Austria

# **Objectives:**

According to Section 1 of the Joint Declaration, the Working Community has the objective of promoting cooperation among its members for the development of the Danube area to serve the interests of its inhabitants and to foster peaceful cooperation in Europe.

#### Procedures and financing:

Procedures are laid down in the "Joint Declaration" of 1990 and the "Procedural rules for the organisation of the Working Community of the Danube Regions" of 14<sup>th</sup> October 1993. Versions revised at the 19<sup>th</sup> Conference of Heads of Government on 29<sup>th</sup> June 2009 in Linz were approved.

As a matter of principle, each member bears the cost engendered by the activities, interpreters are paid by the host region. For joint projects, the pertaining working groups shall elaborate a financing plan and submit it for approval.

# Structures, working method, working language:

According to its founders, the Working Community should function with a minimum of institutionalisation. Based on this understanding, the following bodies have been established:

# **Conference of Heads of Government**

- Change of chairmanship every two years "following-the-course-of-River-Danube" principle, unanimity principle, decisions have recommendational character, heads of governments of members are responsible for the implementation within the framework of their administration.
- Working Group of Senior Officials

Under the permanent chairmanship of the Lower Austrian Chief Executive. Preparation and implementation of tasks devised by the Conference of Heads of Government.

Secretariat General

Administrative preparation of meetings and administrative tasks.

- Working Groups
  - Culture and Science, Chair: Lower Austria
    with 2 Working Groups: Danube Culture Route and Cultural Heritage, Chair: Lower Austria
  - Transport and Navigation, Chair: Vienna with 2 Working Groups: "Economic Potentials of Secondary Ports", Chair: Rousse and Danube Bicycle Route, Chair: Vienna
  - Sustainability, Chair: Lower Austria Working Group: Spatial Planning, Chair: Slovak Republic
  - Economy and Tourism, Chair: County Györ-Moson-Sopron
  - Youth and Sports, Chair: County Pest

The conference languages are the official languages of the members. Documents for meetings are issued to the members in German.



ARBEITSGEMEINSCHAFT DONAULÂNDER PRACOVNÍ SPOLEČENSTVI PODUNAJSKÝCH ZEMÍ PRACOVNÉ SPOLOČENSTVO PODUNAJSKÝCH KRAJÍN DUNAMENTI TARTOMÁNYOK MUNKAKÖZÖSSÉGE RADNA ZAJEDNICA PODUNAVSKIH REGIJA RADNA ZAJEDNICA PODUNAVSKIH ZEMALJA COMUNITATEA DE LUCRU A STATELOR DUNARENE РАБОТНА ОБЩНОСТ **ЛУНАВСКИ СТРАНИ** РОБОЧА СПІВДРУЖНІСТЬ ПРИДУНАЙСЬКИХ КРАЇН

# The most important achievements and the most significant projects for the coming years:

In the area of zoning and environmental protection e.g. measures for the protection of the ozone layer between Bavaria and Budapest, elaboration of a "master scheme for sustainable development in the Danube area", "Soil Protection Declaration".

In the area of tourism and culture e.g. concept of a cycle-hiking path along the River Danube, list of historical-technical monuments, establishment of a restoration workshop for destroyed cultural property in Osijek (Croatia), creation of a base map of the course of the Danube, project of a digital culture map.

In the area of economic matters e.g. contacts between the Danube-area chambers of commerce, preparation of a register of business development area.

In the area of transport e.g. further development of environmentally sound means of transport (ships, trains, etc.), "guidelines for transport development", studies on transport development, "Portino", study on the development of smaller harbours, "Eating in the Danube area".

**Interreg II C projects:** "Cultural Itinerary Danube", "Study on Traffic Development" **Interreg III B projects:** "Donauhanse" – Cooperation between Danube Cities and Harbours

**Youth contact seminars:** Conferences of Youth Ambassadors", "Danube Teens Camp"

Projects: "Donauhanse", "Western Black Sea Harbour Cooperation"

**Members (39)**: D: Baden Württemberg, Bavaria (till 2005); A: Upper Austria, Lower Austria, Vienna, Burgenland; SK: Trnava, Bratislava; H: County Györ-Moson-Sopron, County Komarom-Esztergom, County Pest, County Fejér, County Bács-Kiskún, County Tolna, County Baranya and Budapest; HR: Zupanija Osjecko-Baranjska, Zupanija Vukovarsko-Srijemska; Serb Republic; BG: Regions Vidin, Montana, Vratsa, Pleven, Veliko Tarnovo, Rousse, Silistra; RO: Danube Regions of Romania: Caras Severin, Mehedinti, Dolj, Olt, Teleorman, Giurgiu, Calarasi, Ialomita, Braila, Galati, Tulcea und Constanta); Republic of Moldavia; UKR: Odessa Region **Observer (2)**: CZ: South Moravia Region, SK: Nitra

The Working Community enjoys the status of observer in the Assembly of European Regions and in Central European Initiative, project partner in "Danube Co-operation Process" (DCP), has strategic partnerships with the EU corridor II management "The Danube" and the scientific and technical organisation PIANC, cooperates with the "Danube Tourist Commission", the "Danube Offices" and the "Council of Danube Cities and Regions" and collaborates on the EU Strategy on the danube area.

Total number of inhabitants: about 80 million Total surface area: 650.000 sqkm

#### <u>Chair:</u> 2012/2013: Lower Austria, Austria 2014/2015: Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Contact:Peter de MARTIN, Secretary General<br/>Office of the State Government of Lower Austria<br/>Working Community of the Danube Regions<br/>Secretariat General<br/>Landhausplatz 1, A-3109 St. Pölten<br/>Phone: +43/(0)2742-9005-13488<br/>Fax: +43/(0)2742-9005-13610<br/>E-Mail: post.lad1@noel.gv.at

Homepage: www.argedonau.at